Congratulations to Jon Olshefski for UFVA Win!

ufvalogoCongratulations to Professor Jon Olshefski (Department of Radio, Television, and Film) on winning the Award of Merit for Documentary Short at this years University Film and Video Association Conference for his work After the Sound: PJ’s Story. This award is the top prize in this category.

WGLS-FM Program Wins Best of the Best Award


by Derek Jones, WGLS Station Manager

NJBA_LOGO_1A Community Affair, a part of Rowan Radio’s weekly news and public affairs programming, received recognition from the New Jersey Broadcasters Association during the organization’s annual convention in Atlantic City on Wednesday.

The 30-minute show, hosted by WGLS-FM Public Affairs Director Jackson Baird, earned an award in the student division for Best Public Affairs in NJBA’s Best of the Best competition.

The winning entry featured a preview of the special election for a vacant seat in the New Jersey Senate between Cory Booker and Steve Lonegan last October. Also, longtime political analyst Harry Hurley joined Baird to offer his thoughts on the race.

Previously, the Broadcast Education Association and Philadelphia Press Association honored the show in national and regional competitions respectively.

NJBA’s Best of the Best competition annually salutes the best in New Jersey radio and television.

Rowan Radio 89.7 WGLS-FM is in its 50th year of broadcasting and has won 242 regional and national awards.

Congratulations to Jackson and WGLS!

Two CCCA Alumni Honored with Emmy Awards

Adam Chazen and Neil Patrick Harris at the Emmys

Adam Chazen and Michael Yurchuk, both RTF alumni, were recently honored at the 2013 Emmys.

Chazen, a member of the special effects team for the HBO series Game of Thrones, received an Emmy for Outstanding Special Visual Effects for work on the second season finale of the show.

Michael Yurchuk at the Emmys

Yurchuk, Senior Supervising Producer of the NBC show The Voice, received an Emmy for Best Reality Competition Show.

Please join us in congratulating Adam and Michael on these honors!