Rowan Writing Center and the National Day on Writing

Our recently relocated and expanded writing center has some big plans for the upcoming semesters, and they have been engaging in fabulous activities to kick things off recently.  Last week, the Writing Center held an open house to mark the official “grand opening” of the new location.  On Tuesday of this week, the center celebrated National Day on Writing with a 24 hour writing marathon!  During that time, they helped over five dozen Rowan students with their writing, and generated more than sixty single-spaced pages of work.  You can check out the (impressive) writings at

Sandy Tweedie, our esteemed colleague in Writing Arts, wrote an opinion piece for the Star Ledger about writing, the National Day on Writing, and Rowan.  You can read an online version of  his article online at

Kudos to Deb Martin (Writing Center Director), the student and professional staff of the center, and the Writing Arts Department, for engaging in this vitally important, and much needed, task of supporting students as they grow in their research and writing abilities.

Recent Student Accomplishments in the College

As usual, our students continue to impress not only us, but the larger communication field. In recent months, the following student recognitions have been achieved.

In August, the 2009 College Broadcasters Inc. National Student Production Awards finalists were announced and four of them were from Rowan’s College of Communication. Winners will be announced at the 88th Annual National College Media Convention in Austin, Texas, Oct. 28-Nov. 1.

  • In the radio documentary category: From First Snap to Stagg: The History of Rowan Football – Produced by Joe Staudenmayer and Jim Vassallo. This program previously was awarded first place in the 2008 Mark of Excellence national competition conducted by the Society of Professional Journalists
  • In the radio sports reporting category: Rowan Sports Minute – Hosted by EJ Campbell and aired on WGLS radio
  • In the television special broadcast category: Life Behind Beards – Producer – Steve Hanulec, Editor- Dave Monk, Director – Dan Ferrara, Camera – Ashley Zazzarino – This documentary was developed in Diana Nicolae’s Spring 2009 documentary class and aired on RTN/channel 5
  • In the television documentary/public affairs category: Generation RX – Producers – Melissa Stankowski and Harry Fleckenstein; Directors – Harry Fleckenstein and Steven Klink; Editor – Tim Hill. The students produced this film in Diana Nicolae’s Spring 2008 documentary class and it also was aired on RTN/channel 5

At the end of August, Kate Harman (Journalism major) was accepted as a 2009-2010 Humanities, Arts, Sciences and Technology Advanced Collaboratory (HASTAC) Scholar!  This achievement is truly remarkable because many of the scholars are graduate students, so Kate is one of a few select undergraduates to join this network.  The HASTAC Scholars program recognizes students who are “ working across the areas of technology, the arts, the humanities, and the social sciences, while also using their expertise and collaborative energy to develop HASTAC into a more dynamic and interactive virtual institution… In the wake of the crisis facing traditional news media, the HASTAC Scholars are “Citizen Journalists” exploring the next-generation possibilities for intellectual dialogue imaginable through digital technology.”

Today, we received word that our WGLS students have again outdone themselves in achieving recognition.  They have been named as finalists for EIGHT of the 2009 Philadelphia College Achievement in Radio Awards.  Winners will be announced on November 5th.  The Rowan finalists are:

  • Best College News/Public Affairs Host – Mandy Rippert – Community Affair: Journey Out of Autism: Interview with Leanne Whiffen
  • Best College Sports Reporting (2) – Mandy Rippert – Interview with Independent Football League Commissioner Mike Von Allen;   E.J. Campbell – Rowan Sports Minute; the passing of Harry Kalas
  • Best College on Air Personality – Doug Cohen – Doug’s Indy Rock Show
  • Best Original PSA for the March of Dimes  – Written & produced by Doug Cohen & Jen Grasso
  • Best College Radio Editorial – E.J. Campbell – Phillies Post Season Pondering
  • Best College Radio Commerical/Promo – Doug CohenOldies to the Future
  • Best College Radio Documentary – Solace in a Bottle – Producers: Jessica Ortuso, Steve Maiorana and Beth Burnston

Also today, Diana Nicolae announced that two Rowan documentaries won honorary awards at the Downbeach Film Festival.  This makes two years in a row that our documentary students were recognized at that event.

  • Empty Room-by Tara Acquesta-producer, Patrick McKee-director/camera and John Clements-editor.
  • Life behind Beards-by Stephen Hanulec-producer, Dan Ferrara-director, Ashley Zazzarino-camera and David Monk-editor.

Congratulations to all of these students and the faculty, staff, and peers that have supported them in their academic and creative growth!